Minister Jones announces strong leadership team for new Infrastructure Commission

Speaking at the annual Building Nations symposium in Rotorua, Infrastructure Minister Shane Jones has announced the inaugural board for the New Zealand Infrastructure Commission – Te Waihanga.

The Minister has named Dr Alan Bollard as chairman of the new independent Infrastructure Commission. He will be joined by Jon Grayson as chief executive, David Cochrane, Raveen Jaduram, Sarah Sinclair, Stephen Selwood, and Sue Tindal.

“I’m so pleased to be announcing the new board today, particularly former Reserve Bank governor Dr Alan Bollard as our chairman,” Minister Jones said.

“I’m also delighted to today be able to announce Jon Grayson has been appointed by the board as chief executive. Jon is currently Deputy Secretary Financial and Commercial at the New Zealand Treasury and he has played an integral role in the establishment of the new Commission,” he added.

“As a Government, we’re confident the board brings together a wide range of skills and experience essential for providing effective leadership in the infrastructure sector, and delivering the step-change we need”.

“The new board combines significant economic expertise with legal, financial, regulatory, and on-the-ground experience, all of which are essential to delivering these goals.

The Commission is tasked with developing a long-term infrastructure plan and pipeline and helping Governments make decisions to improve the wellbeing of all New Zealanders. The Coalition Government allocated a record $41 billion in Budget 2019 for capital spending over the next 5 years, focused on building schools, hospitals, houses, roads and public transport.

The New Zealand Infrastructure Commission is on track to be operational by October this year.

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.